Library

Non-Legal Research

Westlaw, Lexis and Bloomberg all have some non-legal resources (including news, business and people finding tools), but sometimes you need more than that. Lemieux Library, SU’s undergraduate library, subscribes to a number of useful databases. Look through the list by subject area to find multiple resources for your research.


 

Legal Research Online

Law students tend to think of Westlaw and Lexis as the only sources for online legal research. However, these are just two of the many useful databases the Library provides. Check the Library’s list of databases for other useful options including BloombergLaw, Hein Online, and Proquest Congressional.

database screenshot


 

Proquest Statistical Insight: A nice source for numbers!

By Jason Giesler, Law Library Intern

Statistics play a major role in many types of legal and non-legal arguments. Whether you are drafting a brief, writing a paper, or trying to impress your friends with your knowledge ( a la Cliff Clavin), access to veracious statistical information can help!

In order to meet your needs, the library offers Proquest Statistical Insight, a comprehensive database with all sorts of statistical information.  Coverage available through Proquest is quite broad, with data from US Government reports published between 1973 and the present. The database is extremely easy to access through a search engine that pops up on the landing page.  Searching a broad term like “crime” yields over 9,600 results.  A toolbar on the left side of the screen allows the user to break down results by source, region, and subject.  Statistics are available from a wide range of locations.  My crime search yielded reports on a variety of topics and locations ranging from Cannabis statistics in Afghanistan to crime and development in Africa. Most of the results displayed include an abstract, so that the numbers can be accessed quickly, without having to read each full report. Overall, Proquest Statstical Insight is an excellent resource with easily accessible data!


 

Database Usage Restrictions

The Law Library licenses and pays for a variety of databases to meet the research needs of our patrons.  Please remember that database usage is subject to the terms and restrictions of the license agreement.  Basic restrictions are outlined following the database link on our Online Resources page.

For further information about database usage, access, and availability, contact the Reference desk.